Asia Scale

asia score asia scale

What is Asia Score?


Spinal cord injuries have been a common problem in society for several centuries. Although most of the time they are caused by car accidents, the spinal cord compromise is always different, so will your symptoms.

Nearly 50% of spinal cord injuries occur in people under age 30, mostly males. Although the exact numbers may vary from region to region, there is no doubt that they have a major impact on young people worldwide.

This is the reason why the need arises for a classification that would allow us to organize the different symptoms that exist and to orient us towards the possible diagnosis and treatment.

In response to this need, was created the ASIA Score, a classification by the American Spinal Injury Association (ASIA) which establishes the basic definitions of the terms used in the assessment of a spinal cord injury Levels and establishes a classification of five degrees based mainly on the presence or absence of motor and sensory function, being the best indicator of the severity of the injury, but also of the prognosis.

This classification is based on three components:


Engine component of Asia Score


Two levels must be evaluated: right and left. First, the strength should be evaluated quantitatively in at least 10 muscle groups belonging to different myotomes (muscle groups with different innervation). The value of the force can go from 0 to 5 (normal) , and does not require complicated studies, the evaluation is manual. The position of the evaluation should always be supine, according to the ASIA. The more distal the muscle being evaluated, the less possible medullary involvement.


Sensitive Component of asia score


It should also be divided into left or right. This is done by assessing superficial sensitivity (with something soft to stimulate touch) and sensitivity to pain (with a painful stimulus, such as a puncture). A subscale with 28 key points is also used here.


Neurological Component


This is a base scheme, a fixed level under which patients can be classified. It will be determined by the level where both sensory and motor components exist. If the damage is asymmetric, it will be determined by the greater of the two components.


The ASIA Score:


A- Complete injury

No motor or sensory function in the lowest sacral segment (S4-S5).

B- Incomplete injury

Sensory function below neurologic level and in S4-S5, no motor function below neurologic level.

C- Incomplete

Motor function is preserved below the neurologic level, and more than half of the key muscle groups below the neurologic level have a muscle grade less than 3.

D- Incomplete

Motor function is preserved below the neurologic level and at least half of the key muscle groups below the neurologic level have a muscle grade >3.

E- Normal

Sensory and Motor function is normal.


References :


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *